Just over a week to go…

With just over a week to go I think I am more nervous than I have ever been. I have just returned from a visit with Professor Grahame, who told me in no uncertain terms that I shouldn’t be doing this and the risks are too high. But still I aim for that starting line, perhaps the finishing line seems more distant and out of my grasp, but I shall aim for the end as thats all I can do.
I came out of hospital nearly a week ago and the only ‘training’ I have done is walking the dog, as I wanted to save myself for my last 10miles this Sunday. I am scared that I won’t be able to complete it and it will dishearten me for next week, but equally I know I have no choice. The option to do my last 20miler has been taken from me, so now all I can do is go in with 16m under my belt and determination that I can do another 10m on top of that.
I have a quote going round in my head that has been pushing me forward –

‘It does not matter how slowly you go so long as you do not stop’ Confucius.

I know that my marathon will by no means be a ‘race’ as such, but for me to be able to try and complete it under 8 hours will be the greatest achievement of my life. I guess I also have to accept that my marathon may not consist of 26.2m, but however long EDS grants me to keep going.

My chest feels better slowly but surely and I hope I have enough stamina to keep going. I had my echocardiogram on Monday to check my training has not worsened my heart, I get the results, and a final ECG on Friday, two days before DDay.
I hope and pray that on Sunday my leg brace feels comfortable and helps the pain, if it does it gives me that added push that just maybe I could do this.

I am over half way towards my target, please help with whatever you can to help me reach all the way.

If you could like to help support me and EDS UK we will be doing a bucket collection on the day, for all details please visit our facebook page.

Thank you to everyone who has supported me in all kinds of different way over the last few months xxx

http://www.justgiving.com/LaraBMarathon

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?

eid=201888489840302http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ehlers-Danlos-Support-UK/153693304682742?ref=ts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment